You are probably having some weird conversations that you really want not to see later. WhatsApp’s disappearing messages feature means new messages sent within an individual chat will automatically disappear after 24 hours, seven days or 90 days when turned on.
The feature gives you more control over disappearing messages but there are some limitations. If the chat remains unopened in the notification panel, the deleted messages will still be visible. This feature also doesn’t apply to quoted messages and forwarded messages. So even if the original message is deleted, it will still be visible.
However, this does not guarantee privacy ot total safety as the other user can take screenshots or pictures using another phone.
How to enable disappearing messages
Either user can enable disappearing messages in an individual chat. Once enabled, new messages in the chat will disappear after the duration you select.
- Open the WhatsApp chat.
- Tap the contact’s name.
- Tap Disappearing messages.
- If prompted, tap CONTINUE.
- Select 24 hours, 7 days, or 90 days.
How to set disappearing messages for your account
You can turn on disappearing messages by default for all new individual chats.
- For both iPhone and Android: Go to WhatsApp Settings > tap Account > Privacy > Default message timer and select a duration.
Do images also dissapear?
By default, media downloaded in WhatsApp will be automatically downloaded to your photos. If disappearing messages are turned on, media sent in the chat will disappear, but will be saved on the phone if auto-download is on. You can turn auto-download off in WhatsApp Settings > Storage and Data.