Twitter Circle is now rolling out to some users, as the company is making an official statement on this new feature. What started as an “alternative timeline for Trusted Friends” a year ago is now finally seeing the light of day.
According to Twitter Safety’s post, “some tweets are for everyone and others are just for people you’ve picked.”
We are now testing Twitter Circle, which lets you add up to 150 people who can see your Tweets when you want to share with a smaller crowd.
Twitter Circle is similar to Instagram’s Close Friends function in that it allows you to choose which friends can see more of your personal stories.
- Add your people: you can choose up to 150 of them to include in your Twitter Circle;
- Tweet to only them: go on – share those thoughts. Only your Circle can see and reply to them;
- Change things up anytime: want to edit your Twitter Circle? Go for it. People won’t be notified if you remove them.
After editing the list, users will notice a green bubble when typing a tweet. They have the option of making it only for a select users or for everyone.
Circle’s tweets will also appear in a distinctive way in the timeline, letting other users know they’ve been chosen. It’s worth noting that people can only like, not retweet, the tweet.