WhatsApp is rolling out a feature that allows you to hide your “last seen” status from specific contacts, as well as the ability to leave a group without informing other users.
WhatsApp began shielding users’ online status from strangers by default last year. While this was a positive step, it still allows your complete contact list to know whether you’re online. WhatsApp’s next update, however, is expected to remedy this by allowing you to pick which contacts can view your status. Toggle on the setting for that user if you don’t want someone to know you’re ignoring their message, and they’ll never know the difference.
WhatsApp is also introducing a new feature that will allow you to quit groups quietly. Currently, the app alerts every user in the group of your departure, which may encourage some group members to message you privately to inquire as to why you left.
WhatsApp claims it will begin rolling out these two features this month and is also working on a method to prevent users from screenshotting “see once” messages. View once communications, unlike disappearing messages, do not vanish after a particular time restriction — they vanish after the recipient has seen it once, similar to a photo or video sent through Snapchat. Adding a means to prohibit users from saving or sharing critical information with others could help.