TikTok has confirmed that it is testing a new feature that would allow users a distraction-free scrolling experience on the app.
The new “clean mode” feature is presently being tested with a small group of users. When viewing content on the app, Clear mode removes all on-screen distractions such as captions and buttons.
The new setting was discovered by users and publicized on Twitter by social media strategist Matt Navarra. Users’ screenshots reveal that when clear mode is enabled, usernames, captions, audio information, and other information are no longer visible. In some circumstances, it looks that you may also remove the like, comment, and share buttons to have an entirely distraction-free viewing experience.
Users who are part of the limited test and have access to clear mode will see the option when they tap and hold the screen. Once you do so, the “Clear Mode” setting will appear under the “Add to Favorites” button in the menu. Clicking on that will trigger the distraction-free viewing experience.
TikTok is currently exploring a variety of new platform modifications, and it was recently disclosed that the company is increasing its investment in HTML5 games. TikTok appears to be working on a LIVE mobile gaming feature that would allow creators to interact followers more effectively while livestreaming.
TikTok has also begun testing a private dislike button that allows users to flag remarks that they believe are irrelevant or improper. When a person dislikes a comment, it is not made public, and commenters are not told that their comment has been hated.